Nels Cross Photography

Home » Chesapeake Bay » Lynnhaven Bay at Dawn–DPS Weekly Theme- Sleep

Lynnhaven Bay at Dawn–DPS Weekly Theme- Sleep

August 2008, F/3.5 1/200 ISO100 22mm

This is a b/w render of an image I took very early one August Saturday morning.  I was the only person awake, thus the theme title of Sleep.  The photo itself is of Lynnhaven Bay looking south from Hermitage Point.  It’s been edited, but it’s not an HDR.  What draws my interest in this photo is the reflection of the dock and pilings in the water, the reflection of the foliage in the foreground, and how the early morning haze adds grain to the photo.  I’d had kept this photo trapped in color until this past weekend when I tried it in B/W.  In my opinion that’s what drew out the details in the photo.

2 Comments

  1. Drew Harrah says:

    I love the reflection. I agree that the B&W definitely helps make that pop. With the water being so still I love the long reflection lines. Awesome stuff!

    • Nels says:

      You’re too kind Drew, thank you!!

      BTW, I really like the snowy photo of the EL beach you posted. We lived in EL for 10 year it’s always a nice to look back at where we’re from… Thanks!

Leave a Reply

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

  • 13,320 page views since 2007
