Hello Broadneck Patch

Welcome to my inaugural post on the Broadneck Patch, I am glad you stopped by.  My name is Nels, and I am patiently learning the art of photography through much trial and error.

I have a passion for the nature and scenery found around the Broadneck Peninsula’s waterways, marshes and harbors.  This is what drives my photography.  I recently joked with another photographer that I needed to stop photographing sunrises and sunsets and learn to take a photo of a person.

The most natural place to begin the journey on the Broadneck Patch is to press the reset button on the blog and share some photos from blog posts past.  These photos are the body of work which I have found the most enjoyment producing.  These photos are small segments of thousands of images shot and edited.  They are far from perfect, but in my eyes compelling nonetheless.

The photo below is from the Bush River in Harford County.  True this is not on the Peninsula.  However, this photo is extremely significant.  This was the first “wow” photo I captured;  this is the image that catapulted me into the hobby.  Looking back at it two years later I now see it’s flaws.  At the time it was captured it stirred many emotions.  This photo is the catalyst, the fuel so to speak,  for the other images you’ll see.

Dawn on the Bush River

Thank you for sharing this space with me.  Please feel free to comment on what you like, and what you don’t.  If you have any questions please contact me via the comments sections or on my blog https://ncrossphotography.wordpress.com.  Until the next post, grab your camera and share what you see.

4 thoughts on “Hello Broadneck Patch

  1. So….are you still using this blog as a platform? Or will you be moving onto another site to share your images? I’ve noticed its been a while since you posted. A few months ago when you were regular, I added your RSS feed to my reader to keep track and I noticed it went dry lately.

    1. I am going to try to syndicate my regular blog posts on the patch website. The goal is to maintain this space, and share the same. Right now I don’t think the patch software can do this so there may be separate posts on both.

      The quietness lately is a function of my schedule. Been really busy. Also, we’re having an issue with our monitor on the PC at home which has slowed me as well. None intentional, just life!

Leave a Reply

