Blue Heron

An early spring has brought the wading birds back to a marshy area I stop by on my way home from the office.

The limiting factor with this shot was my lens, a 28-200 zoom. In this case I needed the extra focal length of my 70-300 with image stabilization. I don’t usually take my entire bag of gear with me to work, just the camera and whatever lens is attached. Chalk that up as a lesson learned.

This Heron was accompanied by a gaggle of Canadian Geese, some red-winged blackbirds, a gigantic Great Egret, and a bunch of Common Grackles. All of which were quietly going about their day amid the busyness in and around the Mall in Waldorf.

Happy Saturday everyone.

3 thoughts on “Blue Heron

  1. So, this was at Lake St Charles Towne Mall?
    No a bad array of birds in a sediment pond in a nearly urban setting.

Leave a Reply

