Repair Needed

An old skipjack being restored at the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum in St. Michaels, Maryland. The summer before last I took a mental health day on my birthday and headed over to Maryland’s Eastern Shore for some photographs. I remember going to the museum as a kid and spent many summer weekends on our family boat docked in the St Michaels harbor. If you are not familiar with the town here is a link with some information.  

I am going to schedule some posts this afternoon for the holiday week because after today the schedule becomes quite busy for a few days. With any luck I’ll have some time for some therapy with the camera, if I do I’ll be sure to add a few photos along with the scheduled posts. 

I don’t think I have shared my new blog posting work flow. The new plan is working very well, here is a quick walk through. When I am editing photos in LR and I have finished an image I want to share on the blog I save the image to my Dropbox folder named “Blog”. Once out on dropbox I rename the file to the day I will be sharing the photograph here on the blog. When I started this process I sent thirty images to the cloud, effectively pre-scheduling a month of posts. Since then I have added to the dropbox folder and continued scheduling photographs through December 31, 2012.If I miss posting a day I simply rename the file to the date the farthest in the future and keep the perpetual stream of photos going. 

Saving to my dropbox folder enables me to post from my PC, laptop or tablet (or any computer connected to the internet for that matter) from anywhere. I allow myself to “add” photos to the flow (like my leaves photograph earlier this week) in addition to, or in place of, the scheduled photo if I want to share the image out of order, and I don’t beat myself up if I miss a day I just re-assign the photo.  So as I type this, if I didn’t edit another image between now and Christmas, I would have a new photograph to share each day.  The goal however, is to always have at least a month of photos out on dropbox in the queue. 

If you don’t use dropbox and you would like to try it out please send me a message. I can get some additional storage space if I refer new users. 

 

 

 

 

Chrysanth WebStory What’s your WebStory today?
Leave a Reply

